“ESG criteria are increasingly important for investors”

Environmental, social and corporate governance aspects – as a major financial institution Commerzbank is required by law to report once a year on its sustainability performance. It regularly scores above average in the associated ratings.

Those who make decisions need one thing above all else: information. That also applies to investors and other groups in society such as consumers. Should I invest in this company? Can I be responsible for buying this product? The environmental and social aspects of a company’s activities are highly relevant in such decisions.

Disclose facts – for greater transparency

In Germany, the CSR Directive Implementation Act therefore obliges large, capital-market-oriented companies such as Commerzbank to issue a non-financial report. CSR stands for corporate social responsibility, i.e. the social responsibility of companies in terms of doing business sustainably. Investors tie this primarily to ESG criteria. E stands for environment, S for social and G for governance.

“In discussions with investors and rating agencies, we regularly hear that ESG criteria are playing an increasingly important role,” says Dirk Bartsch, Head of Strategic Investor Relations. “In this respect, the non-financial report is also a kind of business card for us.” In view of climate change and its consequences, the environmental aspect in particular has been a focal point for many investors for some time, he continues. The report highlights not only the initiatives to which the Bank has subscribed but also the measures that have been taken as a result. That applies, for example, to the management of the loan portfolio: “As a concrete first step, we have identified the CO2-intensive industries in our overall portfolio and are gradually determining the level of CO2 pollution associated with these sub-portfolios.” “Sentences like this naturally make investors sit up and take notice,” explains Mr Bartsch. “After all, they want to know where we’re headed, and outlooks make them curious about the Bank’s new sustainability strategy.

Many investors are increasingly looking at issues such as diversity.

Dirk Bartsch, Head of Strategic Investor Relations

ESG is about more than climate and environmental protection

However, it is not only the environment topic that attracts investors’ interest. “Corporate governance is a key issue. This includes, for example, the independence of the Supervisory Board,” says Dirk Bartsch. “Governance is homework that needs to be done carefully.” According to him, the “social” aspect is currently gaining momentum. “Many investors are increasingly looking at issues such as diversity, the proportion of women in leadership positions and the Bank’s actions for customers and employees in connection with the coronavirus pandemic. This, too, requires commitment and transparency.”

Also included in the non-financial report are awards and ratings, as these are important indicators for investors as well. Major sustainability rating agencies such as ISS ESG, MSCI, CDP and Sustainalytics regularly rate Commerzbank above the industry average. And rankings such as the Corporate Knights “Global 100” sustainability index, in which only seven German companies are represented – including Commerzbank – also help to make a good impression. Just a few days ago, Commerzbank’s 2019 non-financial report even made a top-flight ranking: In an analysis of the reports from 119 German banks conducted by Zielke Research Consult in collaboration with the consulting firm ZEB, Commerzbank came out sixth.

The non-financial report is produced at the end of each financial year by a number of Group units working together. A project team consisting of Group Sustainability Management, Investor Relations and the Supervisory Board is in charge of this. The report is audited by a certified public accountant and appears in the Annual Report.

Dirk Bartsch
Copyright: Privat
Dirk Bartsch

Head of Strategic Investor Relations & Rating Agency Relations / ESG

A graduate in business administration, he joined cominvest, the asset management company of Commerzbank AG, in 2005 as a financial analyst and co-fund manager. In 2008 he moved to the head office and built up the Strategic IR division from scratch, which he has headed ever since. One highlight was the successful issue of Commerzbank’s first very own green bond. As a result, interest among ESG investors increased significantly.

Non-financial report

The CSR Directive Implementation Act transposed the European directive into German law in 2017. In particular, large listed companies with more than 500 employees are obliged to produce an annual non-financial report. The following five aspects have to be covered: environmental protection, respect for human rights, treatment of employees, social responsibility and anti-corruption. Commerzbank also reports on a sixth aspect – treatment of customers – because customer orientation is a decisive non-financial factor in the Group’s success.

The bank at your side

„ESG-Kriterien werden für Investoren immer wichtiger“

Umwelt, Soziales und Unternehmensführung – die Commerzbank als großes Finanzinstitut ist gesetzlich verpflichtet, einmal jährlich über ihre Nachhaltigkeitsleistung zu berichten. Bei den entsprechenden Ratings schneidet sie regelmäßig überdurchschnittlich ab.

Wer Entscheidungen treffen muss, der braucht vor allem eins: Informationen. Das gilt auch für Investoren und andere gesellschaftliche Gruppen wie zum Beispiel Verbraucher. Soll ich in diese Firma investieren? Kann ich es verantworten, dieses Produkt zu kaufen? Für solche Entscheidungen sind die ökologischen und sozialen Aspekte eines Unternehmens durchaus relevant.

Fakten offenlegen – für mehr Transparenz

In Deutschland verpflichtet deshalb das CSR-Richtlinie-Umsetzungsgesetz große kapitalmarktorientierte Unternehmen wie die Commerzbank zu einer jährlichen nichtfinanziellen Berichterstattung. CSR steht dabei als Abkürzung für Corporate Social Responsibility, also die gesellschaftliche Verantwortung von Unternehmen im Sinne eines nachhaltigen Wirtschaftens. Investoren machen dies vor allem an ESG-Kriterien fest. E steht dabei für Environment (Umwelt), S für Social (Soziales) und G für Governance (Unternehmensführung).

„Aus Gesprächen mit Investoren und Ratingagenturen nehmen wir regelmäßig mit, dass ESG-Kriterien eine immer wichtigere Rolle spielen“, sagt Dirk Bartsch, Head of Strategic Investor Relations. „Insofern ist der nichtfinanzielle Bericht auch eine Art Visitenkarte für uns.“ Vor allem der Aspekt „Umwelt“ stehe seit geraumer Zeit angesichts des Klimawandels und seiner Folgen bei vielen Investoren im Fokus. Der Bericht zeigt nicht nur die Initiativen auf, denen sich die Bank angeschlossen hat, sondern auch die Maßnahmen, die sich daraus ableiten. Dies betrifft zum Beispiel die Steuerung des Kreditportfolios: „Als konkreten ersten Schritt haben wir die CO2-intensiven Branchen unseres Gesamtportfolios identifiziert und ermitteln schrittweise die Höhe der CO2-Belastung, die mit diesen Teilportfolios verbunden ist.“ „Solche Sätze lassen Investoren natürlich aufhorchen“, erklärt Bartsch. „Schließlich wollen sie wissen, wohin die Reise geht, und Ausblicke machen neugierig auf die neue Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie der Bank.“

Viele Investoren schauen zunehmend auf Themen wie Diversity.

Dirk Bartsch, Head of Strategic Investor Relations

ESG ist mehr als Klima- und Umweltschutz

Doch nicht nur das Thema „Umwelt“ stößt bei Investoren auf großes Interesse. „Governance, also Unternehmensführung, ist ein grundlegendes Thema. Dazu gehört zum Beispiel die Unabhängigkeit des Aufsichtsrats“, sagt Dirk Bartsch. „Governance ist eine Hausaufgabe, die sauber erledigt sein muss.“ An Fahrt gewinnt ihm zufolge derzeit der Aspekt „Social“. „Viele Investoren schauen zunehmend auf Themen wie Diversity, den Anteil der Frauen in Führungspositionen und die Maßnahmen der Bank für Kunden und Mitarbeiter zur Corona-Pandemie. Auch dabei ist Engagement und Transparenz gefragt.“

Ebenfalls im nichtfinanziellen Bericht enthalten: Auszeichnungen und Ratings. Denn auch sie sind für Investoren wichtige Indikatoren. So bewerten wesentliche Ratingagenturen für Nachhaltigkeit wie ISS ESG, MSCI, CDP und Sustainalytics die Commerzbank regelmäßig über dem Branchendurchschnitt. Und auch Rankings wie der Nachhaltigkeitsindex „Global 100“ von Corporate Knights, in dem insgesamt nur sieben deutsche Unternehmen vertreten sind – darunter auch die Commerzbank –, tragen zu einem guten Eindruck bei. Vor wenigen Tagen erst hat sogar der nichtfinanzielle Bericht 2019 der Commerzbank einen Spitzenplatz ergattert: In einer Analyse von Zielke Research Consult in Kooperation mit der Beratungsgesellschaft ZEB kam er unter den Berichten von 119 deutschen Kreditinstituten auf Platz 6.

Der nichtfinanzielle Bericht entsteht jeweils am Ende eines Geschäftsjahrs in der Zusammenarbeit zahlreicher Konzerneinheiten. Federführend ist dabei ein Projektteam aus Group Sustainability Management, Investor Relations und dem Aufsichtsrat. Der Bericht ist von einem Wirtschaftsprüfer geprüft und erscheint im Geschäftsbericht.

Dirk Bartsch
Foto: Privat
Dirk Bartsch

Head of Strategic Investor Relations & Rating Agency Relations / ESG

Der studierte Diplom-Betriebswirt trat 2005 als Finanzanalyst & Co-Fondsmanager in die cominvest Asset Management Gesellschaft der Commerzbank AG ein. 2008 wechselte er in die Zentrale und baute den Bereich Strategic IR neu auf, den er seitdem leitet. Ein Highlight war die erfolgreiche Emission des ersten eigenen Green Bonds der Commerzbank. In der Folge nahm das Interesse bei ESG-Investoren deutlich zu.

Nichtfinanzieller Bericht

Mit dem CSR-Richtlinie-Umsetzungsgesetz hat Deutschland 2017 eine europäische Richtlinie umgesetzt. Insbesondere große börsennotierte Unternehmen mit mehr als 500 Beschäftigen sind seitdem jährlich zu einer nichtfinanziellen Berichterstattung verpflichtet. Die folgenden fünf Aspekte sind dabei vorgeschrieben: Umwelt-, Arbeitnehmer- und Sozialbelange sowie Achtung der Menschenrechte und Anti-Korruption. Die Commerzbank berichtet darüber hinaus mit Kundenbelange über einen sechsten Aspekt, weil Kundenorientierung eine entscheidende nichtfinanzielle Einflussgröße auf den Konzernerfolg darstellt.

Die Bank an Ihrer Seite