Beekeeping instead of logging

The Bank has been climate neutral in Germany since 2015. It currently achieves this by continuously reducing its CO2 emissions and then offsetting the still unavoidable remainder with certificates from various projects. One of these projects is in Zambia.

Beekeeping instead of logging – this is one of the prospects that the Luangwa Community Forests Project (LCFP) offers to Zambian farmers. At the same time, it benefits the forests of this African country, which help to protect against climate change. “We carefully check in advance which projects we buy CO2 compensation certificates from,” says Rainer Posselt, Environmental and Energy Manager at Commerzbank. “In the case of the LCFP forest conservation project, we were particularly impressed by the approach of actively involving local people.” In December last year, Commerzbank therefore purchased 10,000 certificates from the LCFP, thereby offsetting 10,000 tonnes of CO2 – because the corresponding forest area in Zambia will continue to exist.

Deforestation for charcoal production

Forests are among the most important CO2 sinks in the world; they are, so to speak, “climate protectors” by nature. But in many countries, deforestation is still an everyday occurrence. In Zambia, for example, many rural households have no electricity. Therefore, people often use charcoal for heating and cooking. The price of this is deforestation, which further fuels climate change. And the effects of this are also being felt in Zambia: prolonged droughts stunt the harvest, while heavy rain washes away the soil. For many farmers, charcoal production is a source of income that they cannot give up without the availability of alternatives.

This is exactly where the LCFP gets involved: protecting forests must be made worthwhile for the local people. To this end, the project works closely with local communities to develop initiatives that create different, and at the same time sustainable, sources of income. And this is precisely where the bees come in, as honey production is a business model that is in harmony with forest conservation. In addition, the LCFP attaches importance to involving the population and letting them take responsibility for environmental protection themselves. The project trains local staff and offers them permanent employment.

Leopards are part of Zambia's diverse wildlife.
Leopards are part of Zambia's diverse wildlife. Copyright: Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans

CO2 compensation certificates finance forest conservation project

Using this approach, the LCFP, which is regularly audited according to the globally-recognised Verified Carbon Standard, impresses on several fronts. “The protected area comprises almost one million hectares of forest, which will continue to be available as a CO2 sink,” explains Posselt. “At the same time, the habitat of wildlife is preserved. In Zambia, this includes endangered species such as leopards, lions and elephants.” The long-term measures also secure the income of the local population as well as the development of the communities. Access to clean drinking water, medical care and education are being continuously expanded.

“We are of course happy to support projects like the LCFP by purchasing CO2 certificates,” says Rainer Posselt. “But we are aware that offsetting is only ever the second choice when it comes to climate protection. It’s more important to reduce emissions.” This is why Commerzbank has been setting its own climate targets for years. As a result, it reduced its carbon footprint in Germany by 70% between 2007 and 2018. With its current climate target, it aims to reduce its CO2 emissions by a further 15% by 2025 compared to 2018.

Rainer Posselt
Copyright: Sabine Lucas
Rainer Posselt

Environmental and Energy Manager

A graduate in business administration, Rainer Posselt has worked at Commerzbank head office since 1991. Following positions in the areas of controlling and project work, he held several organisational management roles from 1996 onwards. He been Environmental Officer at Commerzbank since 2007. In 2015 the energy management system was added to his area of responsibilities.

CO2 certificates

Commerzbank’s motto is “Reduce CO2 before offsetting”. CO2 certificates represent the quantity of emissions that are offset. One certificate corresponds to one tonne of greenhouse gases. After the certificates are purchased, they are retired, so they cannot be bought or traded again. Their retirement is documented in official registers.

Commerzbank project selection

Commerzbank has defined clear criteria to select the projects for the compensation of currently unavoidable CO2 emissions. They refer to the quality of the certificates (e.g. Verified Carbon Standard), the technologies used to avoid CO2 emissions and the countries in which the projects are located. Criteria

Forest conservation project in Zambia

Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Access to clean water, better medical care and education: the communities also benefit from the forest protection project. Copyright: Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
The forest provides a habitat for many animals and plants. Copyright: Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Trees and forests store the climate-damaging carbon dioxide and produce oxygen. Copyright: Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
The bank at your side

Bienenzüchter statt Holzfäller

Seit 2015 arbeitet die Commerzbank in Deutschland klimaneutral. Sie erreicht dies momentan, indem sie ihren CO2-Ausstoß stetig senkt und dann den jeweils noch nicht vermeidbaren Rest mit Zertifikaten verschiedener Projekte kompensiert. Eines der Projekte ist in Sambia.

Bienenzüchter statt Holzfäller – das ist eine der Perspektiven, die das Luangwa Community Forests Project (LCFP) sambischen Bauern bietet. Und damit auch den Wäldern in dem afrikanischen Land, die zum Klimaschutz beitragen. „Wir prüfen vorab genau, von welchen Projekten wir CO2-Kompensationszertifikate kaufen“, sagt Rainer Posselt, Umwelt- und Energiemanager der Commerzbank. „Beim Waldschutzprojekt LCPF hat uns besonders der Ansatz überzeugt, die Menschen vor Ort aktiv einzubeziehen.“ Im Dezember vergangenen Jahres hat die Commerzbank deshalb 10.000 Zertifikate vom LCFP gekauft und damit 10.000 Tonnen CO2 kompensiert – weil die entsprechende Waldfläche in Sambia bestehen bleibt.

Abgeholzte Wälder für die Holzkohleproduktion

Wälder gehören zu den wichtigsten CO2-Speichern der Welt, sie sind sozusagen von Natur aus „Klimaschützer“. Doch in vielen Ländern sind Rodungen noch Alltag. In Sambia zum Beispiel haben die ländlichen Haushalte oft keinen elektrischen Stromanschluss. Zum Heizen und Kochen verwenden die Menschen deshalb häufig Holzkohle. Der Preis dafür sind abgeholzte Wälder, die den Klimawandel weiter befeuern. Und dessen Auswirkungen zeigen sich auch in Sambia: Anhaltende Dürreperioden lassen die Ernte verkümmern, Starkregen schwemmt den Boden weg. Für viele Bauern ist die Holzkohleproduktion eine Einnahmequelle, auf die sie ohne Alternativen nicht verzichten können.

Genau an diesem Punkt setzt das LCFP an: Der Schutz der Wälder muss sich für die Menschen vor Ort lohnen. Dafür entwickelt das Projekt in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den lokalen Kommunen Maßnahmen, die andere und gleichzeitig nachhaltige Einnahmequellen schaffen. Und hier kommen die Bienen ins Spiel. Denn die Honigproduktion ist ein Geschäftsmodell, das im Einklang mit dem Erhalt der Wälder steht. Daneben legt das LCFP Wert darauf, die Bevölkerung einzubeziehen und sie selbst Verantwortung für den Umweltschutz übernehmen zu lassen. Das Projekt bildet lokale Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbieter aus und bietet ihnen eine feste Anstellung.

Zur vielfältigen Tierwelt Sambias gehören auch Leoparden.
Zur vielfältigen Tierwelt Sambias gehören auch Leoparden. Foto: Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans

CO2-Kompensationszertifikate finanzieren Waldschutzprojekt

Mit diesem Vorgehen punktet das LCFP, das regelmäßig nach dem weltweit anerkannten Verified Carbon Standard überprüft wird, gleich mehrfach. „Das Schutzgebiet umfasst knapp eine Million Hektar Wald, der weiterhin als CO2-Speicher zur Verfügung steht“, erklärt Posselt. „Gleichzeitig bleibt der Lebensraum für Wildtiere erhalten. Dazu gehören in Sambia auch gefährdete Tierarten wie Leoparden, Löwen und Elefanten.“ Die langfristig angelegten Maßnahmen sichern zudem neben dem Einkommen der lokalen Bevölkerung auch die Entwicklung der Kommunen. Der Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser, medizinischer Versorgung und Bildung wird kontinuierlich ausgebaut.

„Projekte wie das LCFP, unterstützen wir mit dem Kauf von CO2-Zertifikaten natürlich gern“, sagt Rainer Posselt. „Uns ist dabei aber bewusst, dass Kompensieren immer nur die zweite Wahl beim Klimaschutz ist. Es ist wichtiger, die Emissionen zu reduzieren.“ Die Commerzbank setzt sich deshalb seit Jahren eigene Klimaziele. So konnte sie ihren CO2-Fußabdruck in Deutschland zwischen 2007 und 2018 bereits um 70 Prozent reduzieren. Mit ihrem aktuellen Klimaziel will sie bis 2025 ihren CO2-Ausstoß um weitere 15 Prozent gegenüber 2018 senken.

Rainer Posselt
Foto: Sabine Lucas
Rainer Posselt

Umwelt- und Energiemanager

Der studierte Diplom-Betriebswirt arbeitet seit 1991 in der Zentrale der Commerzbank. Nach Aufgaben im Controlling und in der Projektarbeit übernahm er ab 1996 mehrere Leitungsfunktionen im Orga-Bereich. Seit 2007 ist er Umweltmangement-Beauftragter der Commerzbank. 2015 wurde diese Aufgabe um das Energiemanagementsystem erweitert.

CO2-Zertifikate

Die Commerzbank arbeitet nach der Devise „CO2 reduzieren geht vor kompensieren“. CO2-Zertifikate stehen für die Menge an Emissionen, die kompensiert werden. Ein Zertifikat entspricht einer Tonne Treibhausgase. Nach dem Kauf der Zertifikate werden diese stillgelegt. Sie können so nicht erneut gekauft oder gehandelt werden. Die Stilllegung wird in offiziellen Registern dokumentiert.

Projektauswahl

Die Projektauswahl der Commerzbank zur Kompensation ihrer aktuell noch nicht vermeidbaren CO2-Emissionen findet nach bestimmten Kriterien statt. Sie beziehen sich auf die Qualität der Zertifikate (z. B. Verified Carbon Standard), die Technologien, die zur CO2-Vermeidung eingesetzt werden, sowie die Länder, in denen die Projekte angesiedelt sind.
Kriterien

Klimaschutzprojekt in Sambia

Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Zugang zu sauberem Wasser, bessere medizinische Versorgung und Bildung: Das Waldschutzprojekt lohnt sich auch für die Kommunen. Foto: Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Der Wald bietet Lebensraum für zahlreiche Tiere und Pflanzen. Foto: Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Bäume und Wälder speichern das klimaschädliche Kohlendioxid und produzieren Sauerstoff. Foto: Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Biocarbon Partners/Chloé Evans
Die Bank an Ihrer Seite