For fair interaction in the spirit of partnership

Commerzbank advocates respectful cooperation. To this end, the Bank has revised its works agreement "Fair Interaction in the Spirit of Partnership in the Workplace" and takes a firm stance against racism.

"We are sending out a clear signal for fair and respectful cooperation," emphasises Sabine Schmittroth at the launch of the revised agreement. "Together, we are taking a stance against discrimination and exclusion. At Commerzbank, bullying, sexual harassment, stalking and any form of discrimination aren’t tolerated."

No room for discrimination

The Works Agreement applies to Commerzbank employees in Germany, however the topics it covers are important and relevant to Commerzbank globally. It contains guidelines on how to behave in a cooperative, fair and respectful manner at all times. This includes, above all, respecting the personality of each individual. The new agreement includes a ban on discrimination, which covers all types of discrimination, including explicitly xenophobic aspects. Discrimination is defined as prejudicial treatment of people on the basis of gender, nationality, ethnic origin, religion or belief, disability, age, sexual orientation or gender identity. Going a step further, the work agreement includes an individual responsibility to stand up against discrimination.

"A diverse and appreciative corporate culture must be a matter of course. Any form of exclusion is not permitted at Commerzbank. Respect and consideration are the basis for a healthy working environment," says Uwe Tschäge, Chairman of the Central Works Council.

Taking responsibility

The Agreement on Fair Interaction in the Spirit of Partnership calls on all Bank employees to take action against discrimination, even if they aren’t directly affected. "We rely on all employees to take responsibility and to stand up against negative behaviour in the workplace. For any form of discrimination can result in mental and physical impairments for those affected," adds Christof Eßer, Head of the Representative Body for Severely Disabled Employees.

The Agreement also places a greater onus on the management for a fair working environment. "In an open and cooperative corporate culture, it is important that managers listen, take the situation seriously and take action together with the person concerned," emphasises Claudia Helmschrott, head of the Senior Staff Spokesmen’s Committee.

Commitment for respectful interaction

Martin Fischedick, Executive Management Board Member GM-HR, and Astrid Schubert, Spokesperson of the Central Works Council Committee "Diversity, Health and Social Affairs", took the worldwide discussions on the topic of racism and discrimination as an opportunity to emphasise the Bank's position on this issue even more clearly, resulting in the development of a joint concept. A key element was the revision of the Works Agreement on Fair interaction in the spirit of partnership dated 2004.

Commerzbank has also been committed to a prejudice-free and healthy working environment for years. As such, it signed the UN Global Compact as early as 2006. With this worldwide voluntary pact between companies, organisations and the UN, Commerzbank committed itself to promoting human rights and creating fair working conditions.

Moreover, Commerzbank is one of the first signatories on the Diversity Charter in Germany. The aim of this voluntary commitment is to create a prejudice-free and open working environment. Additionally, the Bank regularly promotes respectful interaction in cooperation with its Bank-wide and cross-company networks.

The bank at your side

Für einen partnerschaftlichen und fairen Umgang

Die Commerzbank macht sich für einen respektvollen Umgang stark. Dazu hat sie ihre Betriebsvereinbarung „Partnerschaftliches und faires Verhalten am Arbeitsplatz“ überarbeitet. Darin spricht sich die Bank ausdrücklich gegen Rassismus aus.

„Wir setzen ein klares Zeichen für ein faires und respektvolles Miteinander“, betont Sabine Schmittroth zum Start der überarbeiteten Vereinbarung. „Gemeinsam machen wir uns gegen Benachteiligung und Ausgrenzung stark. Bei uns in der Commerzbank haben Mobbing, sexuelle Belästigung, Stalking und jede Form der Diskriminierung keinen Platz.“

Kein Platz für Diskriminierung

Die Betriebsvereinbarung gilt für alle Beschäftigten der Commerzbank. Darin finden sie Vorgaben dazu, wie sie sich jederzeit partnerschaftlich, fair und respektvoll verhalten. Hierzu gehört vor allem, die Persönlichkeit jedes Einzelnen zu respektieren. Die neue Vereinbarung beinhaltet ein Diskriminierungsverbot, das alle Arten von Diskriminierung einschließt, darunter explizit fremdenfeindliche Aspekte. Diskriminierung gilt als Benachteiligung von Menschen aufgrund von Geschlecht, Nationalität, ethnischer Herkunft, Religion oder Weltanschauung, Behinderung, Alter, sexueller Orientierung oder geschlechtlicher Identität. Neu in der Betriebsvereinbarung ist dabei die ausdrückliche Verantwortung jedes Einzelnen, sich gegen Diskriminierung einzusetzen.

„Eine vielfältige und wertschätzende Unternehmenskultur muss selbstverständlich sein. Es darf in der Commerzbank keine Ausgrenzung geben. Respekt und Achtsamkeit sind die Basis für ein gesundes Arbeitsklima“, sagt auch Uwe Tschäge, Vorsitzender des Gesamtbetriebsrats.

Verantwortung übernehmen

Die Vereinbarung zum partnerschaftlichen und fairen Umgang fordert alle Beschäftigten der Bank auf, sich gegen Diskriminierung zu engagieren, selbst dann, wenn sie nicht direkt betroffen sind. „Wir setzen darauf, dass alle Beschäftigten Verantwortung übernehmen und sich gegen negatives Verhalten am Arbeitsplatz stark machen. Denn jede Form der Benachteiligung kann zu seelischen und körperlichen Beeinträchtigungen bei den Betroffenen führen“, ergänzt Christof Eßer, Gesamtvertrauensperson der Schwerbehinderten.

Der Appell für ein faires Arbeitsklima, nimmt explizit auch die Führungskräfte in Verantwortung. „In einer offenen und partnerschaftlichen Unternehmenskultur ist es wichtig, dass Führungskräfte hinhören, die Situation ernst nehmen und gemeinsam mit der betroffenen Person handeln“, betont Claudia Helmschrott, Vorsitzende des Unternehmenssprecherausschuss.

Engagement für ein respektvolles Miteinander

Die weltweiten Diskussionen zum Thema Rassismus und Diskriminierung haben Martin Fischedick, Bereichsvorstand Personal, und Astrid Schubert, Sprecherin des Gesamtbetriebsratsausschusses „Diversity, Gesundheit und Soziales“, zum Anlass genommen, die Haltung der Bank zu diesem Thema noch deutlicher herauszustellen. In der Folge haben das Diversity Management und das Gesundheitsmanagement mit den Interessenvertretungen ein gemeinsames Konzept erarbeitet. Wesentliches Element war die Überarbeitung der Vereinbarung zum „partnerschaftlichen und fairen Verhalten am Arbeitsplatz“ von 2004.

Auch darüber hinaus engagiert sich die Commerzbank seit Jahren für ein vorurteilsfreies und gesundes Arbeitsumfeld. So hat sie unter anderem schon 2006 den UN Global Compact unterzeichnet. Mit dem weltweiten freiwilligen Pakt der Vereinten Nationen zwischen Unternehmen, Organisationen und der UNO setzt sie sich für Menschenrechte und faire Arbeitsbedingungen ein.

Daneben gehört die Commerzbank zu den Erstunterzeichnern der Charta der Vielfalt in Deutschland. Ziel dieser Selbstverpflichtung ist ein vorurteilsfreies und offenes Arbeitsumfeld. Auch darüber hinaus macht sich die Bank regelmäßig zusammen mit ihren bankweiten und unternehmensübergreifenden Beschäftigtennetzwerken für einen respektvollen Umgang stark.

Die Bank an Ihrer Seite