Helping out in turbulent times

Helping out where it’s most desperately needed: That’s what motivated Orfeo Maus when he saw the reports about crowded hospitals. He remembered the fulfilling work he did as a first responder and offered his help. Since then, he’s been providing support at a hospital emergency ward in the battle against coronavirus.

Back when coronavirus first hit, pictures from inside Italian hospitals went around the world, asdoctors and nursing staff were faced with a hurricane like never before. Since then, the pandemic has kept the whole world on tenterhooks. Orfeo Maus, Group Manager in the Corporate Customer Service in Munich, and a witness to all this, decided to get involved himself. “It bothered me a lot - I wanted to do my bit to improve the situation here on site. I had already gained experience as a first responder during my community service and with the Bavarian Red Cross. I felt now was the time to offer my help, even though it was 25 years later,” said the committed Commerzbanker. He then approached an organisation for home care services and two nearby hospitals to offer his support.

Test of patience with positive result

After a brief investigation into the matter it turned out that, due to the processes at the hospitals, he could only help out if he was actually employed by the hospital. So Orfeo officially applied, after discussing it with his manager - and patiently waited to hear back on his application. After being turned down by one hospital, his second application dwindled out. “At first I was a little disappointed to be thwarted in my ambitions,” said Orfeo. But in mid-November, things unexpectedly re-gained momentum - one of the hospitals asked whether he was still available to help. “I was glad the Bank was so flexible – which meant I was able to start my first shift just two weeks later,” Orfeo explained.

Assisting as crisis volunteer

Since then, Orfeo has been assisting in the care of emergency patients who show possible coronavirus symptoms such as fever, cough or nausea. This also includes patients who are under quarantine - or those who have instead been sent in for a completely different problem. For this to work out with his full-time job at the Bank, Orfeo is on mainly on duty on the weekends. In total, he works an average of four days per month. “My new colleagues fully integrated me into the emergency team right from the outset. It was funny when doctors actually mistook me for a fully trained nurse under all the protective gear. My colleagues were great in showing a lot of patience and trust in me when I 'outed' myself as a crisis volunteer,” Orfeo remembered.

No fear of contact

Despite his previous experience in providing an emergency service taking place years ago, it still proved helpful: “One of the nurses said to me: ‘Placing needles is like riding a bicycle, you never forget how to do it’," Orfeo said with a wink. That's why Orfeo is allowed to help with electrocardiograms (ECGs), measuring blood pressure, taking blood samples and placing infusions - and even doing the work himself sometimes. Not to forget, of course, taking temperatures and performing the Covid-19 swabs for the coronavirus tests. His tasks also include replenishing material or comforting patients. Thanks to the protective gear, he’s not afraid of coming into direct contactwith coronavirus patients.

Not only in turbulent times

Will Orfeo soon only be found in the hospital? He smiled and said: “I like the combination of both jobs. Here at the Bank, I usually know what to expect and can plan my work much better. It's completely different in the emergency room. You never know whether three or four patients will come in at once or whether any will come in for hours.Then again, my role as a manager is somehow also about providing care - namely for my great team.” But in regards to his temporary part-time job, he’d like to put in extra time in order to continue helping - not only in turbulent times but after also.

[*Note: This refers to the placement of a venous access, e.g. for an infusion.]

Secondary employment

The Bank must be notified of any secondary employment. The Bank confirms the commencement of the secondary employment if it does not compete with the interests of the Bank, the employee's work performance does not suffer, and the employee complies with the statutory maximum working hours.

Listen to the audio doc of February 4, 2021

Due to his secondary work in the hospital, Orfeo Maus was probably one of the first bank employees to be vaccinated against Covid-19. In an interview with Dr. Drees, he reports on his experience with vaccination (German only).

private
Orfeo Maus in his first-responder outfit: the extensive protective gear protects him from contracting any infectious diseases. Copyright: private
private
Coronavirus at your fingertips: creative result of a hospital colleague, which ensures a good laugh. Copyright: private
private
private
The bank at your side

Hilfe in stürmischen Zeiten

Helfen, dort wo es am nötigsten ist: Das bewegte Orfeo Maus, als er die Berichterstattung über proppenvolle Krankenhäuser sah. Er erinnerte sich an die erfüllende Arbeit als Rettungssanitäter und bot seine Hilfe an. Seitdem unterstützt er direkt an der Front in einer Krankenhaus-Notaufnahme.

Die Bilder aus italienischen Krankenhäusern gingen um die Welt. Damals, als Corona wie ein Hurrikan über Ärzten und Pflegepersonal hereinbrach. Seitdem hält die Pandemie die ganze Welt in Atem. Das alles sah auch Orfeo Maus, Gruppenleiter im Firmenkunden-Service in München, und beschloss, sich selbst zu engagieren. „Mir ließ das keine Ruhe – ich wollte gern meinen Teil beitragen, um hier vor Ort die Situation zu verbessern. Als Rettungssanitäter habe ich im Zivildienst und beim Bayerischen Roten Kreuz Erfahrung gesammelt. Die wollte ich nun anbieten, auch wenn das schon 25 Jahre her war“, sagt der engagierte Commerzbanker. Daher ging er direkt auf eine Organisation für häusliche Dienste und zwei nahe liegende Krankenhäuser zu und bot seine Unterstützung an.

Geduldsprobe mit positivem Ausgang

Nach kurzer Recherche kam heraus: Aufgrund der Prozesse in den Krankenhäusern konnte er nur über eine tatsächliche Anstellung aushelfen. Also bewarb sich Orfeo Maus nach Rücksprache mit seinem Chef offiziell bei den Häusern – und brauchte erstmal viel Geduld. Ein Haus lehnte ab, die zweite Bewerbung verlief im Sand. „Erst war ich etwas enttäuscht, in meinem Tatendrang ausgebremst worden zu sein“, sagt Orfeo Maus. Doch Mitte November kam dann unerwartet nochmal Schwung in die Sache: Eines der Krankenhäuser fragte nach, ob er immer noch zur Verfügung stünde. „Ich war froh, dass die Bank so flexibel war – so konnte ich schon zwei Wochen später zu meinem ersten Dienst antreten“, sagt Maus weiter.

Einsatz als Krisenhelfer

Seitdem unterstützt er in einem außerhalb der eigentlichen Notaufnahme aufgestellten Container bei der Versorgung von Notfallpatienten, die mögliche Coronasymptome wie Fieber, Husten oder Übelkeit zeigen. Dazu gehören auch Patienten, die unter Quarantäne stehen – oder solche, die eigentlich wegen eines ganz anderen Problemes gekommen sind. Damit das mit seiner Vollzeitstelle in der Bank klappt, hat er vorwiegend am Wochenende Dienst. Insgesamt arbeitet er im Schnitt vier Tage pro Monat. „Die neuen Kollegen haben mich von Anfang an voll in das Notaufnahme-Team integriert. Teilweise war es schon etwas komisch, wenn mich manche Ärzte unter der Schutzausrüstung für einen voll ausgebildeten Pfleger gehalten haben. Umso schöner war es, dass mir alle Kollegen viel Geduld und Vertrauen entgegengebracht haben, wenn ich mich dann als Krisenhelfer 'geoutet‘ habe“, erinnert sich Orfeo Maus.

Keine Berührungsängste

Seine Vorkenntnisse aus dem Rettungsdienst lagen da zwar schon Jahre zurück, erwiesen sich aber trotzdem als hilfreich: „Einer der Pfleger sagte zu mir: 'Nadeln legen* ist wie Fahrrad fahren, das verlernt man nicht‘“, erzählt Maus augenzwinkernd. Daher darf Maus beim EKG schreiben, Blutdruck messen, Blut abnehmen oder eben Infusionen legen helfen – oder die Arbeiten sogar selbst durchführen. Nicht zu vergessen natürlich: Fieber messen und die Covid-19-Abstriche für die Corona-Tests abnehmen. Darüber hinaus zählen auch Material auffüllen oder mal eine Hand halten zu seinen Aufgaben. Berührungsängste hat er dank der Schutzausrüstung jedenfalls nicht, wie er sagt.

Nicht nur in stürmischen Zeiten

Ob man Orfeo Maus demnächst nur noch im Krankenhaus antrifft? Er schmunzelt und sagt: „Ich finde gerade die Balance aus beiden Tätigkeiten spannend. Hier in der Bank weiß ich meistens, was mich erwartet und kann meine Arbeit deutlich besser planen. Das ist in der Notaufnahme ganz anders. Da weiß man nie, ob gleich drei, vier Patienten auf einmal kommen oder mal stundenlang gar keiner. Außerdem: in meinem Job als Führungskraft geht es ja irgendwie auch um 'Pflege‘ – nämlich die meines tollen Teams.“ Doch für die befristete Nebentätigkeit will er gern in die Verlängerung gehen, um weiter zu helfen – nicht nur in stürmischen Zeiten.

[*Anm.: Gemeint ist damit das Legen eines venösen Zugangs, z.B. für eine Infusion.]

Nebentätigkeit

Eine Nebentätigkeit muss der Bank angezeigt werden. Die Bank bestätigt die Aufnahme der Nebentätigkeit, wenn sie nicht mit den Interessen der Bank konkurriert, die Arbeitsleistung nicht leidet und der Mitarbeiter die gesetzlichen Höchstarbeitszeiten einhält. Mehr Infos dazu stehen im Comnet.

Hören Sie in den Audio-Doc vom 4. Februar 2021 rein

Aufgrund seiner Nebentätigkeit im Krankenhaus konnte sich Orfeo Maus vermutlich als einer der ersten Bankmitarbeiter gegen Covid-19 impfen lassen. Im Gespräch mit Dr. Drees berichtet er über seine Erfahrung mit der Impfung.

privat
Orfeo Maus hier im Krankenhaus-Dienst: Vor einer Ansteckung schützt ihn die umfangreiche Arbeitskleidung. Foto: privat
privat
Corona zum Anfassen: kreatives Ergebnis eines Krankenhaus-Kollegen, das für gute Stimmung sorgt. Foto: privat
privat
privat
Die Bank an Ihrer Seite